Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates:  
July 7 - Council adopts ordinance requiring masks or face coverings in public in Montgomery.   View Ordinance  |  Face Covering FAQ's
June 20 - Montgomery's 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. curfew has been lifted.
June 30 - Gov. Ivey extends Amended Safer at Home Order to July 31.  |  Text Alerts  |  COVID-19 En Espanol   

  • VOTE

    Inauguration 2019


The City of Montgomery consists of a Mayor-Council system of government.
Both the Mayor and Council are elected to four year terms. The new city council will serve from 2019-2023.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * 


Steven Reed was born and raised in Montgomery. He earned his Bachelor of Arts degree, cum laude, from Morehouse College where he also lettered in football. He holds a Master of Business Administration from Vanderbilt University’s Owen Graduate School of Management. Judge Reed and his wife Tamika are the proud parents of three children.

As Probate Judge, he’s expanded access to representation, improved facilities, and modernized the office to better serve the community. His contribution toward the creation of the Alabama Healthy Minds Network has helped hundreds of people get the treatment and services they need instead of spending time in jail. He has made drastic improvements to mental health services and has resolved issues in his administration. In addition, Steven correctly stood up for the rule of law in our legal challenge to former Alabama Chief Justice Roy Moore over marriage equality. 

Judge Steven Reed

Elected: October 8, 2019
Swearing-in: Tue, November 12, 2019

More Information


  • Alumnus of Leadership Alabama
  • River Region United Way Board Member
  • Britton YMCA Board Member
  • Volunteer YMCA football coach
  • Metro Board of the Montgomery Area YMCA Member
  • Moderator at Community Congregational United Church of Christ
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Member
  • Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Member
  • Dr. Martin Luther King Leadership Award for Governmental Service - awarded by Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.


    Meet Your City Council Member 
    * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

    The new city council will serve from 2020-2024.


    District 1: Richard N. Bollinger
    District 2: Brantley W. Lyons
    District 3: Tracy Larkin
    District 4: Audrey Graham
    District 5: Cornelius CC Calhoun - NEW
    District 6: Oronde Mitchell - NEW
    District 7: Clay McInnis - NEW
    District 8: Glen O. Pruitt, Jr.
    District 9: Charles W. Jinright